Volunteering Again

As one of the ways of getting out of the house and back into the social enviornment as well as to give me something to do I had started volunteering. First I volunteered for a while at a local church. I would clean up and organize the pews once a week and I also volunteered at the local SPCA as a dog walker. The hopes were that the volunteering would also help with my depression. I volunteered from January 2011 until June 2011 when I started my carpentry apprenticeship. I relapsed into my depression and did not continue to apprenticeship for long.

After the relapse and once I started feeling a bit better it was suggested that I volunteer at the local hospital. I followed up on the volunteering and started to volunteer as a porter. Porter’s are volunteers who help people get to the area of the hospital they need to be, take files from one place to another, take blood tests to the labs etc. It wasn’t too bad but after a couple months my depression was starting to get worse and so I stopped volunteering at the hospital. This was unfortunate because I went back into seclusion.

As of last week I started volunteering at the hospital again. I didn’t want to be volunteering in a position where I would be dealing with the general public as I felt uncomfortable and anxious of giving the wrong information or taking people to the wrong area so I started volunteering in the health records department. I didn’t mind it last week and hopefully this will be something that I can continue doing without any problems. I would like to start looking for part time work soon and try to get myself back to a somewhat normal life.

Leave a comment